Accreditation Programs

Egyptian Accreditation Programs

One of the strategic objectives for Egypt’s 2030 Vision is the implementation of a clearly controlled, transparent, and fair regulatory system.

To ensure the quality and safety of health services, it was established that the condition of accreditation is necessary for contracting with health facilities to provide services to citizens through the existence of an independent authority. GAHAR was established under Law No. 2 for the year 2018 pertaining to the Universal Health Insurance system.

It is the responsibility of GAHAR to maintain this status of being the accrediting and regulating body, strongly rooted in its independence, which is stipulated by law. GAHAR is an independent authority under the direct supervision of His Excellency President Abdel Fattah El Sisi.

We are the body responsible for issuing standards to ensure the provision of health care services in different health facilities in accordance with the highest quality and safety. These standards have been prepared by healthcare quality experts and are intended to be in line with the latest developments in quality and global safety. The standards are meant to be pillars that provide safe services to patients. The patient is the main axis around which GAHAR’s work revolves.

Our role is not limited to evaluating health facilities by specialists with accredited international expertise in the field of health care; it extends to help health establishments develop performance and reduce risk factors. This happens through using the scientific method to manage the risks and detect them before they occur and work to take all necessary measures to prevent them from occurring or repeating them.

The existence of an integrated orientation program for capacity building enables the recipients to improve the performance of the health system to which they belong. This occurs when the available resources are optimized, and the scientific method is used in measurement and follow-up, together ensuring the highest quality and safety in the provision of service.

Saudi Accreditation Program

The Saudi Central Board for Accreditation of Healthcare Institutions (CBAHI) is the official agency authorized to grant accreditation certificates to all governmental and private healthcare facilities operating today in Saudi Arabia. CBAHI has emerged from the Saudi Health Council as a non-profit organization. The principal function of CBAHI is to set the healthcare quality and patient safety standards against which all healthcare facilities are evaluated for evidence of compliance.

The foundation of CBAHI dates back to 2001 as Makkah Region Quality Program (MRQP), an initiative aimed at improving quality of healthcare delivery in the Makkah Region. In 2005, under a Ministerial Order, MRQP was developed and named as Central Board for Accreditation of Healthcare Institutions (CBAHI) and its jurisdiction was expanded to the whole country.

National Standards
In 2006, with the help of healthcare quality experts from the public and private sectors, CBAHI developed the first set of national standards for hospitals.

ISQua accreditation
In 2012, CBAHI’s 2nd edition of national standards for hospitals was certified by the International Society for Quality in Healthcare (ISQua).

Mandatory status of CBAHI accreditation 
In late 2013, when a Cabinet of Ministers Decree called for changing CBAHI’s official name to the “Saudi Central Board for Accreditation of Healthcare Institutions”, it also mandated the national accreditation by CBAHI on all healthcare facilities. In addition, the Ministry of Health is mandating CBAHI accreditation as a prerequisite for renewal of the operating license – a step towards encouraging more participation in this ambitious national initiative.

It is mandatory for all public and private healthcare delivery facilities (hospitals, polyclinics, blood banks and medical laboratories) in Saudi Arabia to comply with national standards set by CBAHI and obtain its accreditation through a survey process set forth by the Center.


International Accreditation Program

An independent, not-for-profit organization, Joint Commission International (JCI) accredits and certifies health care organizations and programs across the globe. Joint Commission International accreditation and certification is recognized as a global leader for health care quality of care and patient safety.

Joint Commission International (JCI) identifies, measures, and shares best practices in quality and patient safety with the world. We provide leadership and innovative solutions to help health care organizations across all settings improve performance and outcomes.

Joint Commission International (JCI) works to improve patient safety and quality of health care in the international community by offering education, publications, advisory services, and international accreditation and certification. In more than 100 countries, JCI partners with hospitals, clinics, and academic medical centers, health systems and agencies, government ministries, academia, and international advocates to promote rigorous standards of care and to provide solutions for achieving peak performance.

International Accreditation Programs

One size does not fit all. In this way, Temos developed tailor-made accreditation programs with specific standards for hospitals, clinics, and outpatient care centers, but also for ophthalmology, dentistry, reproductive medicine, and rehabilitation services.

We care about you. Our very strong customer care team accompanies throughout the accreditation process and provide you with guidance to understand the standards and work on them as a team. Our customer care team is always available via email, phone, and online meetings to answer questions and provide guidance if needed. Our unique online tools support your preparation through a catalogue of questions and a gap analysis.

We care about the environment. Temos is the only accreditation body that included a standard chapter on “sustainability in healthcare settings” based on the United Nations 2030 sustainable development goals.